ישראל; June 14, 2011

Shalom from Israel, everyone!

I know i’ve been so bad at blogging this past, well, year. I really do want to get back into it — I used to have so many readers and I loved coming back to wordpress every day to find new comments and new followers. I guess with this year, going off to college and all, I just honestly didn’t have the time.

Meanwhile, I am currently staying on a Kibbutz in southern Israel with loads (too much) free time on my hands, so I figured I’d say hello! What’s new in the blog world everybody? What have I missed??

I’ve been in Israel since May 26th and I leave on June 24th. I came with Taglit-Birthright, an organization that allows all Jewish youth, aged 18-24, to come to Israel for free! It’s such a fantastic program and the experience was one I will never forget. When that trip ended on the 6th, I chose to extend my stay and move to a kibbutz for a few weeks, to see what it was like. For those of you who don’t know, a kibbutz is a sort of all-encompassing commune. They are located all throughout the state and, while over the past few years they have certainly changed in terms of their communistic ways, they still hold a lot of equality-type values that I admire.

My mother stayed on a kibbutz for half a year when she was 17, two years younger than me, and she had an amazing time. I can’t say I’m having the best time of my life here, as I really would much rather be traveling the country than volunteering on the kibbutz gardening and working with the elderly, but I’m certainly not complaining about not having to be in my house for the summer! I start work the moment I get home, so I’m just trying to get the most relaxation out of this “vacation” as possible!

Eating has not been easy, per-se. We are only served one meal a day in the dining room, lunch, and we are on our own for breakfast and dinner. For the most part, I have been doing alright, but for some reason, ED seems to think that whenever I am away, be it in foreign countries, at camp, anywhere but home or school, I must lose weight. It’s really bloody annoying, to tell you the truth. And to be completely honest, I haven’t been too great fighting him on it either. My body image was not great when I left school at the end of the semester, and i’ve been going through a stressful time, with both my grandparents sick and my educational goals up in flames. I’m desperately trying to figure out what I want to do with my life in the future, all the while trying to hold it together in the present. Unfortunately, I cannot be in two places at once :[

Anyways, I’m off to go to the pool with a friend I’ve made here. Any feedback, or at least a hello to tell me you are still reading this, would be much appreciated!

xx

Becca

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “ישראל; June 14, 2011

  1. hey 🙂 i knwo im not an old commenter i guess, i started reading a bit later on when your blog had been going for a while. but i really love it. i’ve heard about that program and a few of my friends have had their trip already, and it always seems so amazing 🙂 i know its hard, vacations and being away from home are usually one of the toughest, you’re thinking about so many things and its just extremely hard to have fun and participate and then continue to be thinking about sticking to a certain meal plan. but keep trying, and i hope the rest of your visit is really amazing. xox jen ❤

  2. Still reading! 🙂

    Hope you’re having fun!
    ❤ Tori

  3. time for happiness

    still here reading love, I hope you’re having a great time!

  4. of course I am still here 🙂

    Your trip to Israel sounds awesome! What an incredible experience 🙂 And I am so glad you extended it! I think you will be very glad you did, as it is such a unique experience!

    I am so sorry ED has been bad though 😦 That is not at all what you deserve! You deserve to enjoy a wonderful trip, eat the local food, and feel free. ED can NOT take this away from you! You are perfect just the way you are! ❤

    Stay strong, and try your best not to let ED take this vacation from you ❤

    My love and prayers,

    Scott

Leave a Reply

