it’s been awhile, but i am alive.

Friends,

I feel like every time I post on here, it’s an excuse for not writing in so long, so I’m just going to go ahead and assume you guys know i’ve been drowning in architecture work for months and haven’t had a second to eat, sleep, or breathe. I’m a hot mess, to be completely honest. It’s been fun, but thank g-d it’s over.

Update on my life: I am officially done with architecture — for now. I gave it a go, and I really loved it and found out how passionate I am about design, but if I continue in this major, it will kill me. And no degree is worth dying over. Next semester, I’m taking an environmental studies lab science, urban sociology, orchestra, modern dance, an honors photography studio, and I am continuing with Hebrew for another semester. My plan is to graduate with an environmental studies major and an international development minor, in addition to the architecture minor I will have received from this year of coursework.

SPEAKING OF WHICH, it was totally last minute, but I’m going to Israel for a month! I’m going on birthright with my school for 10 days, and then I’m volunteering on a kibbutz for 3 weeks, both helping with the upkeep of the farm/stables and teaching children English in local schools. I’m really excited. I was going to volunteer with the army, but my  mother was not for that idea. Ha.

Today, my semester ended on a very somber note. I woke up to an email from my mom telling me my grandfather was rushed to the hospital last night. Some sort of kidney failure. Although I just got back from Florida (I went for easter break/study period), I flew to Florida and am now here until the 14th.

On the 15th, I start a lifeguarding certification class, (I’ll most likely be working at a day camp this summer from june until august). I think it’ll be nice to have a chill job that doesn’t require me to be running after 13-year-olds, like i’ve done the past two summers. Also, I’ll be staying with my dad over the weekends in manhattan, as he’s officially moved back to the US. Great timing, Dad. But, I guess it’s a start.

Anyways, I’m thinking of making a full switch to tumblr. I have one now, but it’s simply a photo blog. I’m not sure I’d want to start adding text in. What do you all think?

Miss you dearly. Sorry i’ve been such a lame-o.

xx

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “it’s been awhile, but i am alive.

  1. Jen

    hey becca 🙂 i haven’t commented much but i’ve read your blog for a bit. its good that you’re doing what you feel is best, architecture sounds incredible but if it’s just killing you then it makes sense to do the switch. but honestly all the other courses and specialties you mentioned sound really amazing. i didn’t know you had a tumblr, i sort of do both as i like how tumblr(ing?) aha is just a compilation of photos for me, no words, and they speak for themselves. and there’s no explaining like i feel i have to do with blogging. anyway, do whatever you’d like regarding your blog or tumblr 😛 adding text is cool too, i’ve seen it done, and some people make their tumblr more like a typical blog with equal part words/photos. xox love jen

  2. No need for an excuse, I can totally relate to being super busy! It is so great to see you back!

    I am so sorry about your grandfather 😦 he will be in our prayers ❤

    I am so excited for your trip! I can't wait to hear all about it 🙂

    So glad to hear from you doing well!

    Scott

Leave a Reply

