Ringing in the New Year; Day 1 of 2011

Wow, I cannot believe the new year is already here. This past year zipped by so quickly. So much has happened. While 2010 had it’s ups and downs, it was a truly life-changing year for me. I graduated from high school, worked my last summer at sleepaway camp, and begun college. Yes, i’ve struggled, but I have come farther in my recovery this year than any other before it. I’m finally starting to see that being thin isn’t everything; people at school who didn’t even know I had an eating disorder still loved and cared for me no matter what.

weheartit

While my intentions were to keep ED out of the picture in college and start fresh, I’ve realized that’s going to be impossible. I still struggle from time to time and I need a support system there, just as I would here at home or anywhere else. My closest friends know my issues and hopefully, when I head back for spring semester, I can get myself back on track and onto a healthy start. I will be rushing for a sorority as soon as school starts up again, so hopefully that won’t put too much stress on me! There is also a gymnastics meet the first weekend of school in Florida, but I don’t think I’ll be able to make it, unfortunately.

I head down to Florida tomorrow anyways to spend some time with Grandma before I go back to Tulane! I’m super duper excited. Every moment I spend with that woman reminds me of all the great things I have to live for. She loves me unconditionally, and I her. Being around her makes me happy, and I think it is going to be really good for me to get out of my house and be able to relax for at least some of this break.

Wishing you all a happy new year!

xx

Becca

Oh, and for an update to my growing winter break reading list…

1. Diary – Chuck Palahniuk

2. When You Are Engulfed in Flames – David Sedaris
3. Freakonomics – Steven Levitt & Stephen Dubner [started, but couldn’t get into it]

4. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer
5. Eating Animals – Jonathan Safran Foer

6. Everything is Illuminated – Jonathan Safran Foer

7. Wintergirls – Laurie Halse Anderson

8. Picture Perfect – Jodi Picoult

9. Squirrel Meets Chipmunk – David Sedaris

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Ringing in the New Year; Day 1 of 2011

  1. I’m glad 2010 was such an important year on your life.
    I’m hoping 2011 will be ever better, and even more ED-free.
    You can do it, B!
    Praying for you.
    Happy New Year!
    xoxo

  2. I’m so happy 2010 was a great year for you. progress is such a milestone. I hope you have a great time in Florida, I’m jealous!

    Happy New Year!!
    xoxo

  3. Happy 2011, love! I know you’re going to bounce back and OWN this year:)

    xoxo

  4. I am so glad 2010 was a good year for you 🙂 I know 2011 will be even better, with ED even farther out of the picture 🙂

    Happy new year!

    Scott

Leave a Reply

